My favourite eyeshadow palettes

Thought I’d share a few of my favourite eyeshadow palettes. I don’t have a butt-tonne, but I think with the right selection, you don’t necessarily need a gazillion palettes. I think a carefully edited collection of shadows will see you through for a while, and with tight purse strings, I don’t have a choice anyway.

Now, I know everyone and their grandmother has posted about the Urban Decay Naked and Wet N Wild palettes, and unfortunately I’m going to have to jump on that bandwagon too – they’re just too good not to mention. These three palettes, from top left to right, Urban Decay’s Naked 2 and Naked 1, and the Comfort Palette from Wet N Wild, are my staples for a neutral eye look. Image

Image

I bought my Naked Palettes online from beautybay.com and the Wet N Wild palette from E-Bay, and they are some of my best beauty buys EVER. If you can only buy one palette of neutral eyeshadows, pick one of the Naked palettes, or the comfort zone palette for a more limited selection of neutrals.

Image

You know a palette is well loved when it looks nice and worn!

My next palette of choice is the Rockstar palette by The Balm. This palette contains a mix of eyeshadows leaning on the neutral / neutral darks and all of the shadows are named with a musical pun based on bands/artists/musical terms. Super cute. The rave reviews regarding the balm shadows are warranted – the shadows are buttery and pigmented, fall out is minimal and the pricing is fairly good for the amount and array of eyeshadows you get in this palette. Included in the mix is also a blush, highlight and two lip cremes which also perform quite well. I bought this palette at David Jones, a department store here in Australia. The price of this palette is significantly higher here than the original U.S. Retail price, but even at the inflated cost, I think it is well worth it for what you’re given.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Excuse the obnoxious finger prints in the lip cremes above! I try to use a lip brush when I can, but sometimes I err on the side of laziness and just use (clean) fingers.

So, that’s pretty much it for my *favourite* eyeshadow palettes in my collection, but I have a few honourable mentions that are worth mentioning.

A couple of Australis palettes and a Chi Chi Eyeshadow palette. All fairly neutral but have a little bit of sparkle, nothing over the top though.

Australis Paparazzi Perfect High Definition Eyeshadow Palette:

Image

Below: ‘Totally Busted’, a selection of champagne, purple, pink, grey and white slightly creamy slightly powdery (I would say the consistency is 50/50 of both) with a slight shimmer. Works well over a base of a similar tone/colour, but fades over the day without one.Image

Image

Here we have the same brand and eyeshadow type in ‘Snap Attack’. A selection of taupe greys and browns with a highlight and a brown-based champagne colour. Again, works well on top of a similarly coloured base or a primer rather than alone. Easily blended and very affordable.Image

Image

Lastly, a neutral Chi Chi eyeshadow palette in ‘Basic Instinct’:Image

Image

Image

Six medium dark neutrals that aren’t as pigmented as the previous palettes and do apply a bit powdery but work well over a primer or a base and offer a good budget friendly alternative to Urban Decay or The Balm (or any other mid to high end shadow). There is some fallout when applying these, but nothing that can’t easily be cleaned up with a makeup wipe, or by simply applying your foundation/concealer last. I purchased the Australis and Chi Chi palettes at Priceline (drugstore/pharmacy).

So there you go, my favourite eyeshadow palettes, mostly neutral because I think it’s impractical for me to have a huge range of too colourful shadows (that won’t be used in the end).

Leave a Reply

