Three Months to Thirty

Today is the 19th of August, 2013, 3 months to the day til I turn the big THREE-OH. 

I’m going to introduce a part of my blog that will be tagged #ThreeMonthsToThirty that will focus on my health and lifestyle and changes I want to make (very last minute) to how I eat and live and my journey in the last 3 months of being 29. 

I have to admit, I’ve really let my health slide over the last 5 years. I wasn’t healthy or active growing up, but I was thin until 5th grade, when I discovered that food could numb the pain of bullying and growing up. It wasn’t until I was 19 that I discovered that exercise and treating your body right with the right food could give me the same pleasure without the guilt or weight gain. Then at 25 I started cycling into a deep depression triggered by a number of life changing events in my early twenties, that leads me where I am today: overweight, inactive and unhappy.

I’ve gone through 3 life changing bouts of depression, the first started when I was 15, then again at around 17/18 and then the worst at 28. I’ve finally come to accept that I can’t self medicate or get rid of my depression with temporary lifestyle changes, I can only try to manage my depression through longer commitments and being kind to myself. It’s a hard lesson to learn and I’m still trying everyday, but the familiarity of failure is seductive and easy to fall back into. 

So over the next 3 months I’ll be documenting my attempt at weightloss and an overall lifestyle change that will incorporate more activity, better nutrition and more fun in general. This will still remain primarily a beauty & Millie blog but will have a few of these entries peppered between normal posts.

What are some milestones you’d like to achieve over the next few months or at least before the end of the year? 

 

 

Leave a Reply

