Bella Box September 2013 – First Impressions

Image
L to R: Bioderma Purifying Foaming Gel, Toni & Guy Creative Texturising Glue, La Clinica Rebalancing Vitamin A Eye Cream La Roche-Posay Effaclar Purifying Foaming Gel for Oily Sensitive Skin, L’Oreal Base Magique Transforming Smoothing Primer & Model Co Cheek + Lip Tint in Rosy Red

Image

Image

I was sent a sample Bella Box after someone contacted me via Makeupalley for my consideration. I have never subscribed to any sort of beauty / cosmetics box, but I have heard of Bella Box and others that cater for the Australian market and also the American / International equivalents. The idea of paying a fixed fee ($15.00 + free shipping for Bella Box) per month to try free beauty products is a good one, but the risk is you might get a box full of products that may not be interesting, although it seems that they cater the products in the box to your skin type (at least they seemed to match my makeupalley skin type to products they included in this sample box which was nice).

In this box I received 4 skin care samples, 1 makeup sample and 1 hair sample. The hair sample, Tony & Guy’s Texturising Glue, was the biggest sample at a whopping 100mL or 3.56 Oz, which is a mega sized sample! The smallest sample was the L’Oreal Base Magique primer, at 5mL. In total there were 6 samples included in this box, with the majority being skin care samples.

Unfortunately, I already have a very set skin care routine, so the skin care samples didn’t really excite me, and they make up the majority of the samples given. I have begun to sample the La Roche Posay cleanser and vitamin A Eye cream but haven’t yet formed an opinion on them, I also quickly tried the Model Co Cheek + Lips product and don’t like it very much, but I’ll give it a bit more time.

I’ll follow up with a meatier review post once I’ve given all the products a good try. Overall I think it’s a good concept but you do have to play a bit of a beauty sample lottery given the samples you receive may not be exactly what you expect or want. I think it’s a good range of different brands, both international and local, and the sample sizes are decent, especially if you consistently get a large sample like the texturising glue that was included in this box. If you play with beauty, hair and makeup a LOT and like to switch your products around and try out lots of different things, this could be a solution for your beauty cravings, but personally I already have a set skin care routine and don’t experiment with haircare that much. I would only be interested in subscribing to a makeup-only beauty box if there was one that catered to the Australian market, as cosmetics are the products I like to play around and switch up the most.

Have you tried Bella Box or any other beauty boxes? What are your thoughts / impressions on subscription based  sample boxes?

4 comments

  1. I subscribe to both Bellabox and Lust Have it. My only gripe with them is the fact that it takes forever to get to me (because I’m on the other side of the country!).
    Great post 🙂

Leave a Reply

