Healthy Eating

I think I’ve figured out my ‘yes’ and ‘no’ foods for me personally. I will list them below and the reasons why:

‘NO’ FOODS:

  • Bread
  • Dairy
  • Fruit Juices
  • Full sugar drink products
  • Pastas and noodles
  • Foods and drinks high in sugar
  • Alcohol

‘YES’ FOODS:

  • Green leafy vegetables (spinach, kale etc) 
  • Animal sources of high lean protein including salmon, chicken and beef
  • Plant sources of high lean protein including legumes, beans and pulses
  • The occasional icecream indulgence
  • The occasional low-sugar soda

There’s still a few ‘naughty’ things on my ‘yes’ foods list including the low sugar soda and occasional icecream indulgence. I’m not lactose intollerant so there’s no medical issue there but I do find when I consume too much lactose based foods, my tummy does not like me for it in the morning.

I’m avoiding my ‘no’ foods because they are simply too calorie rich for what my lifestyle required – if they were NUTRIENT rich AND calorie rich it wouldn’t be so bad, but they’re really not. They’re foods you should reach for when no alternatives are present and you must eat these to survive. Sounds dramatic, but an oversupply and an overindulgence in the food under the ‘no’ category is one of the leading reasons why we have such a terrible battle with obesity ahead of us. We’ve all found too much of a good thing and it’s killing us.

The ‘Yes’ foods I’ve picked are foods that are nutrient dense but have a low caloric value, which means we can’t possibly eat too much of them and yet we will be gaining all the benefits they have to offer. A mainly plant based diet is shown to have good effects on your health and well being and I’m going to try to subscribe to that from now on. There are a animal proteins thrown in there for carnivores like me which makes it easier to stick to. 

And I have an absolute sweet tooth, so I couldn’t say no to the sugar free alternatives you can find out there. Yes, they have been stigmatised up to their eyeballs and no one can definitively say they’re good or bad for us, so right now I’m just going with the ‘well, if it’s an occasional sweet treat it’ll be fine until I’m old DEFINITIVELY I’m going to die from cancer from it’ 😛

I hope all your eating and lifestyle journies are serving you well. I also think that the people you surround yourself with definitely shape the experiences as negative or positive so I hope you’re surrounding yourself with people who really care about you and only want the best for you. You deserve only the best, of course. 

Leave a Reply

