Wednesday Whinge

I had a scan this morning and I massively made a mistake and completely forgot to take a course of medication that I’m meant to do before having the scan. I couldn’t believe it. I must have put the prescription and instructions away in my ‘medical’ folder and forgotten, because I NEVER forget important stuff like that. I’ve been waiting a couple of cycles for ANYTHING to happen and because it was out of sight, it was out of mind. Completely kicking myself so hard right now. I’m not the kind of person to forget those things because I make such a big effort to remember. So mad at me right now!

And in other Wednesday whinge news, I’m sick. I could feel the cough starting in the back of my throat yesterday morning and developing into something throatier and sorer all day yesterday until this morning when I came back home from my early morning scan and had to jump into bed again. Me and Millie have been snoring our little faces off all morning until I decided I needed to get up and take care of the sore throat pain. It’s nearly 30 degrees Celsius outside and I’m downing a steaming hot mug of lemon and honey. Does that potion actually, medicinally, work? It does feel good against my sore throat but whether it’s that or the butt-tonne of panadol I took that’s actually making the pain subside, I’m not entirely sure. Either or, they both seem to be working and I’m grateful.

One of the last things I feel like doing when I’m sick, is taking care of myself. I don’t rely on other people to take care of me, I mean, I just couldn’t be bothered doing things like washing my face or playing with makeup or dressing up or anything. I could barely make this cup of tea and honey and I wouldn’t have if the pain didn’t sting so much. I think that’s the worst part of being sick with a cold/flu – the pain of the sore throat. I can handle the fatigue, the headaches, even nausea and vomitting, but I find the 24hour enduring sting of a sore throat torturous. I also don’t feel like eating, which, if you know me, means something is very wrong. I have a cuppa soup somewhere stashed in the back of the pantry that I’ll tuck into if I get hungry later, but today I think you’ll find me sprawled across the sofa staring blankly at the ceiling feeling sorry for myself.

Leave a Reply

